My generation

This generation I see around me is stuck in a dream world of entitlement and laziness. We all believe that some day we’ll be millionaires, famous musicians, or computer company moguls. And we haven’t yet realized the simple fact that we won’t. I see around me a nation full of corporate middle managers who hate their lives, and expect a fortune to fall in their lap while they do only what they must to maintain status. We perpetuate a world of status by ownership instead of status by deeds. As those around me sit and wait for success to find them, I will be cutting my own trail toward my future, using integrity, work ethic, and kicking ass at everything I do. By the time this generation figures it out. I’ll have fought, worked, and succeeded at reaching the top of the mountains I chose to climb.

J. Cole

Leave a Reply

